Free Soul Music Saturday for Janurary 7, 2012

It’s the return of Free Soul Music Saturday!

I hope everyone had a fantastic holiday season and are enjoying the new Western calendar year. As for me, I took a much-needed break, caught up on some TV and time with my family and set some new goals for 2012.

So, a few things are going to change on the blog, mostly due to time constraints. There is really so much music coming at me on a weekly basis, that’s it’s truly impossible to give everything a fair listening. I’m talking specifically about podcasts and mixes. For the better part of last year, I really simply glossed over a mix/podcast to assess whether it got mention on the blog. That’s not fair to the blog or the mixes I’m featuring, so I’ve decided to eliminate the Mix category from future postings. I’ll probably still include them in the Google Doc and Spotify playlist when I can, so look for them there. I’d rather concentrate my time and focus on Albums, EPs, Beat Tapes and Singles. But keep an eye out on this blog for tips on how I find new music. That will more than likely include a list of podasters that I subscribe to, and I’ll more than likely make a list of them here at some point.

Well, 2012 is not messing around, music-wise. Both Diggs Duke and Robert Glasper came out of the gate at a full clip. Tons of producers hit with their beat tapes, and we got a great compilation of Jill Scott remixes from Bama Love Soul. Here is my full listening list as a Google Doc and also this week’s Spotify Playlist.

To catch up with December, here are my Spotify playlists for last month.

12.31.11
12.24.11
12.17.11
12.10.11

Thanks to all the artists, producers, DJs, podcasters and music bloggers that bring this music to light!

LP/EP OF THE WEEK 


Diggs Duke – Black Gold

SINGLE OF THE WEEK


Robert Glasper Experiment – Move Love (feat. King)

HONORABLE MENTION


Malice & Mario Sweet – Congratulations

EPs, BEAT TAPES & LPs 


BamaLoveSoul.Com presents Still Jill
 *HOT*


Dpat – Blurry


Finest Ego | German / Austrian / Swiss Compilation


Hashfinger – January.12


Rob Milton – Love Today

Salmagundi Cover Art
Headspace – Salmagundi

SNOW Cover Art
KNYT – SNOW

Soul Below Cover Art
Ljones – Soul Below
 *HOT*

Pardon My French Cover Art
David Bocuse – Pardon My French

Reply from space Cover Art
The Cancel – Reply from space

Beats Without Rhymes Cover Art
Eric Ryan – Create & Complete

Sleep (A Tribute To Dilla) Cover Art
Shag – Sleep (A Tribute To Dilla)
 *HOT*


Tribe Vibes Vol. 1

SINGLES

Steven Bernstein's Millennial Territory Orchestra: Family Affair
Steven Bernstein’s Millennial Territory Orchestra: Family Affair

georgia anne muldrow seeds
Georgia Anne Muldrow – Seeds (Prod. By Madlib)

Najee2011album.jpg
Najee feat. Phil Perry – Just To Fall In Love

Loss On Repeat w/ DJ Raydar Ellis & Esperanza Spalding Cover Art
Lyric Jones – Loss On Repeat w/ DJ Raydar Ellis & Esperanza Spalding
 *HOT*


Jodeci – Freek n’ You (Soulpersona “Freeky Nasty” Remix)

Imaginary Conversations Cover Art
Delta Nove – Why Are We Here?


Question & Freddie Joachim – Find Another Way Revisited
 *HOT*

0 Responses to “Free Soul Music Saturday for Janurary 7, 2012”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
    follow me on Twitter

    Twitter Feed


